why another best of????????????????????

Discuss musical topics that are not directly 808 State related.

Moderators: Ancodia, Pob, markus, nickking

why another best of????????????????????

Postby PeteZarustica » 30 Aug 2005 01:38

Why does NewOrder keep releasing best-ofs every now and then?
Really, who needs another compilation after international, best of, rest of, substance and the retro fiasco? what do you all think about it?

all the best
Pete
PeteZarustica

Postby dee3 » 30 Aug 2005 10:45

Hi Pete (and the rest of ya)!
Good question, actually!
But it's probably only Warner's marketing department that can truly answer on that one!

Personally, (and eventhough I'm a big fan of NO) I think it's utterly pointless!
Of course, unless you're a complete newbie or completist... :wink:

Then I'd rather see New Order - Best Remixes getting a proper release
(or at least get the rights squared away, so it get DL'ed via iTunes globally -
'n' not just being accessable for iTunes-users in the U.S. and U.K.).
And even on this one, one can discuss how important that release is, too!

But I am however looking forward to the release of their videos on DVD next month! :D

That's just my humble opinion - but again, and as Pete asks: what do you all think about it?

Don
dee3

Postby nickking » 30 Aug 2005 13:11

It's primary aim is not aimed at fans, as such, but for those casual listeners who've heard one or two New Order tracks and wants to pick up a collection.

Releasing another collection actually gets the product onto the record shop shelves (at least for the short time), as many record shops out there probably don't have a copy of either International or The Best Of.

Of course, it's the record company and making money that are the primary concern, but if it gets more people into New Order, then I'm not complaining! :P